COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

P.O. BOX 2120

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23218-2120

PRINS. MEMO NO. 40

June 18, 2002

ELEMENTARY / MIDDLE / SECONDARY

TO:

Principals

 

FROM:

Patricia I. Wright

Assistant Superintendent for Instruction

 

SUBJECT:

Registration of 18-Year-Old Males with Selective Service

 

 

Federal law requires every man to register with Selective Service within 30 days of his 18th birthday. Failure to do so may deprive individuals of their rights to state and federal student assistance, state and federal employment, and other benefits. Although Selective Service registration has increased substantially during the past few years, Virginias registration compliance rate is 88 percent.

 

All young men in public schools should be informed of the requirement that they must register with Selective Service when they become 18 years of age. I strongly encourage all high school principals to assign a registrar to provide information and assistance regarding the registration process. Only 88 percent of Virginia public high schools have assigned registrars to provide this assistance.

 

According to Virginia State Director of Selective Service, Brigadier General (Retired) Manuel R. Flores, the most popular registration method is found on the Internet at http://www.sss.gov/.

 

JLD:DCS/jct