COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
P.O. BOX 2120
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23218-2120
SUPTS. MEMO NO. 13
March 23, 2001
ADMINISTRATIVE
 
TO: Division Superintendents
FROM: Jo Lynne DeMary
Superintendent of Public Instruction
SUBJECT: Procedures for Requesting Approval of Alternative Special Education Staffing Plans

The Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia, effective January 1, 2001, (8 VAC 20-80-45) provide special education staffing requirements. These staffing requirements replace the Special Education Program Standards (8 VAC 20-570-10 et seq). School divisions and private special education schools must comply with these new staffing requirements unless an alternative special education staffing plan has been approved by the Virginia Department of Education. An alternative staffing plan that reduces the number of staff positions will not be approved.

Special Education Program Standards waivers submitted and approved prior to December 31, 2000, are effective for the 2000-01 school year; submission of an alternative staffing plan in place of these waivers is not required for the remainder of the school year. Any changes to the circumstances surrounding an approved waiver should be resubmitted as an alternative staffing plan.

Attached is a copy of the procedures for requesting approval of an alternative staffing plan. These procedures can be accessed from the Department of Educationís website under Special Education in the Office of Instructional Support Services. Copies are also being disseminated to special education administrators.

Questions about these procedures may be directed to the regional technical assistance staff in the Office of Special Education and Student Services at (804)225-2932 or:

Region 1, Harley Tomey, (mailto:htomey@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 2, Tony Faina, (mailto:tfaina@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 3, Karen Trump, (mailto:ktrump@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 4, Irene Walker-Bolton, (mailto:ibolton@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 5, Judy Hudgins, (mailto:jhudgins@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 6, Sharon Siler,(mailto:ssiler@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 7, Linda Bradford, (mailto:lbradford@mail.vak12ed.edu)

Region 8, Chet Walrod, (mailto:cwalrod@mail.vak12ed.edu)

JLD/PA/pa

Attachment

/administrators/superintendents_memos/2001/adm013a.pdf

Cc: Virginia Special Education Administrators