COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

P.O. BOX 2120

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23218-2120

SUPTS. MEMO NO. 217

October 13, 2006

INFORMATIONAL

TO:

Division Superintendents

 

FROM:

Billy K. Cannaday, Jr.

Superintendent of Public Instruction

 

SUBJECT:

Functional Behavioral Assessment and Behavior

Intervention Plan Training for School Personnel

 

 

The Virginia Department of Education, Office of Special Education Instructional Services, will offer training on how to conduct a Functional Behavioral Assessment (FBA) and develop a positive Behavior Intervention Plan (BIP). Participants who register for the initial training will meet again for a case study follow-up meeting. Functional Behavioral Assessment is a proven, effective approach to identifying the reason(s) for a students misbehavior, eliminating the problem behaviors that impede successful teaching and learning, and developing a corrective plan that emphasizes more appropriate and acceptable behavior skills.

 

Functional Behavioral Assessment is a team problem-solving process. Accordingly, the Virginia Department of Education is inviting school-based teams, typically comprised of general educators, special educators, specialists and other support personnel, as well as a parent representative, to be trained together in the FBA/BIP process. The Department of Education, in collaboration with the Training and Technical Assistance Centers (T/TACs) of Virginia, will provide comprehensive training in all phases of the FBA/BIP process and be available to give technical support and assistance to participating teams.

 

The FBA and BIP team trainings have been arranged in each region, as follows:

 

Region 1

Overview: Tuesday, November 7, 2006

Follow Up: Thursday, January 11, 2007

Follow Up Snow Date: Thursday, January 18, 2007

John Tyler Community College

13101 Jefferson Davis Highway

Chester, VA 23831

 

Region 2

Overview: Monday, November 13, 2006

Follow Up: Friday, January 12, 2007

Follow Up Snow Date: January (To Be Determined)

Omni Newport News Hotel

1000 Omni Blvd.

Hampton, VA 23669

 

Region 3

Overview: Thursday, November 2, 2006

Follow Up: Monday, December 18, 2006

Follow Up Snow Date: Thursday, December 21, 2006

Holiday Inn Select Hotel & Conference Center

2801 Plank Road

Fredericksburg, VA 22401

 

Region 4

Overview: Friday, December 1, 2006

Follow Up: Friday, January 19, 2007

Follow Up Snow Date: Thursday, January 25, 2007

Elks Lodge - Woodbridge Lodge #2355

14602 Minnieville Road

Dale City, VA 22193

 

Region 5

Overview: Thursday, November 30, 2006

Follow Up: Thursday, January 4, 2007

Follow Up Snow Date: Friday, January 5, 2007

Central Virginia Community College

3506 Wards Road

Lynchburg, VA 24502

 

Regions 6/7

Overview: Thursday, November 9, 2006

Follow Up: Thursday, December 7, 2006

Follow Up Snow Date: January (To Be Determined)

Radford University West Campus

6226 University Park Drive

Radford, VA 24141

 

Region 8

Overview: Friday, November 10, 2006

Follow Up: Friday, December 8, 2006

Follow Up Snow Date: Friday, December 15, 2006

Virginia Tech, Southern Piedmont ARC

2375 Darvills Road

Blackstone, VA 23824

 

Please complete the attached registration form and fax it to Pat Woolard, Old Dominion University, Training and Technical Assistance Center (T-TAC ODU) at (757) 683-3115. An e-mail confirmation notice will be sent to each participant.

 

For further information, please contact Irene Walker-Bolton, irene.walker-bolton@doe.virginia.gov, educational specialist, Office of Special Education Instructional Services at (804) 225-2709.

 

PIW/IWB/dlj

 

Attachment

 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/administrators/superintendents_memos/2006/inf217a.doc