COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA
Department of Education
May 30, 2014
TO: Division Superintendents
FROM: Steven R. Staples, Superintendent of Public Instruction
The Governor signed House Bill 373 that amends and re-enacts Section 54.1-26.3 of the Code of Virginia regarding the licensing of school speech-language pathologists. House Bill 373 requires that in order to practice speech pathology, individuals will need to hold a valid license issued by the Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (BASLP). Please refer to Superintendent’s Memorandum # 085-14 for background information on this legislation.
The legislation provides for individuals who hold an active, renewable license issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a valid endorsement in speech-language pathology on June 30, 2014, to be deemed qualified to obtain a school speech-language pathologist license from the BASLP. This includes individuals who hold an active Collegiate Professional, Postgraduate Professional, or Pupil Personnel Services Licenses with a valid endorsement in speech-language pathology issued by the Virginia Board of Education.
To assist speech-language pathologists who are seeking an initial license from the BASLP, the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) will pay $70 towards a BASLP license (school speech-language pathology or full) for initial applicants who submit an Initial Application with VDOE Endorsement School Speech-Language Pathology License or Initial Application with VDOE Endorsement Full Speech-Language Pathology License to the BASLP between July 1, 2014 and December 1, 2014. "School speech-language pathologist" means a person licensed pursuant to §54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia to provide speech-language pathology services solely in public school divisions. These applications and BASLP licensure procedures are available on the BASLP Web site.
Submission of any other BASLP application for initial or renewal licensure will not qualify for VDOE financial support. Speech-language pathologists with a master’s degree may apply for a BASLP full licensure ($135 fee) by submitting the BASLP Initial Application with VDOE Endorsement Full Speech-Language Pathology License, a payment of $65 (the difference between the $135 fee and VDOE financial support of $70), and any additional documentation required by the BASLP.
Local education agency human resources staff and speech-language pathologists are reminded that:
If you have any questions or need additional information regarding the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology applications and licensure process, please contact the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, via e-mail at AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov or telephone at (804) 367-4630.
If you have other questions or need additional information, please contact Mrs. Patty S. Pitts, assistant superintendent for teacher education and licensure; telephone (804) 371-2522; or Dr. Mark Allan, director of licensure and school leadership; telephone (804) 371-2471.