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Title 
Final Review of Amendments to the Regulations Governing Driver Education (8 
VAC 20-340) and the Repeal of Regulations Governing the Approval of 
Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction (8 VAC 20-60) (Final Stage) 

Presenter Ms. Anne D. Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for Policy and Communications 

E-mail Anne.Wescott@doe.virginia.gov  Phone (804) 225-2403 

 
Purpose of Presentation:         
Action required by state or federal law or regulation. 
 
Previous Review or Action:              
Previous review and action. Specify date and action taken below: 
Date:  September 26, 2013 
Action:  First review (final stage) 
 
Action Requested:          
Final review: Action requested at this meeting. 
 
Alignment with Board of Education Goals:  Please indicate (X) all that apply: 
  

 Goal 1: Accountability for Student Learning 
 Goal 2: Rigorous Standards to Promote College and Career Readiness 
 Goal 3: Expanded Opportunities to Learn 
 Goal 4: Nurturing Young Learners 
 Goal 5: Highly Qualified and Effective Educators 
 Goal 6: Sound Policies for Student Success 
 Goal 7: Safe and Secure Schools 

X Other Priority or Initiative. Specify:  Technical changes to comply with § 
22.1-201 and § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia 

 
Background Information and Statutory Authority: 
The 2008 General Assembly adopted amendments that removed the requirement in § 22.1-254.1 of the 
Code of Virginia for the Superintendent of Public Instruction to approve correspondence courses for 
parents who home school their children.  As a result of this action, the Regulations Governing the 
Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction would no longer be necessary – except that 
§ 22.1-205 of the Code requires that the Board of Education approve correspondence courses for driver 
education, and that provision of the law was not changed. 
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Summary of Important Issues:  
Instead of having two sets of regulations, one governing correspondence courses and another governing 
driver education, this proposal would simply add a new section about driver education correspondence 
courses to the Regulations Governing Driver Education, and repeal the Regulations Governing the 
Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction. 
 
The Board has received no public comment on the proposed regulations, and there are no changes from 
the proposed stage. 
 
Impact on Fiscal and Human Resources:  
The impact on fiscal and human resources of repealing these regulations would be negligible. 
 
Timetable for Further Review/Action:   
Following approval by the Board, the regulations will undergo executive review by the Office of the 
Attorney General, the Department of Planning and Budget, the Secretary of Education, and the 
Governor.  Upon approval by the Governor, the proposed regulations are published in the Virginia 
Register and there is a 30-day public comment period.  At the end of the 30-day public comment 
period, the regulatory actions become effective.  Department staff will notify local school divisions and 
other affected parties of these regulatory changes. 
 
Superintendent's Recommendation:  
The Superintendent of Public Instruction recommends that the Board of Education approve the 
amendments to the Regulations Governing Driver Education and repeal the Regulations Governing the 
Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction. 
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REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE APPROVAL OF CORRESPONDENCE COURSES FOR 
HOME INSTRUCTION 

8VAC20-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words or terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education.  

"Correspondence school" means a school, organization, or other entity, no matter how titled, that 
teaches nonresident students by mailing them lessons and exercises which, upon completion, are 
returned to the school for grading. The lessons or exercises may also be transmitted and graded through 
electronic means.  

"Course" means presentation of an orderly sequence of material dealing with an individual subject area 
such as mathematics, biology, etc.  

"Department" means the Department of Education.  

"Home instruction" means the teaching of a child or children in the home as an alternative to 
compulsory attendance as defined in § 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia.  

"School" means a correspondence school.  

8VAC20-60-20. Schools seeking approval.  

Schools seeking approval of the academic courses offered shall submit the following:  

1. A catalog or other documents containing the following information:  

a. A statement of ownership or control of the institution;  

b. Descriptions of courses offered by the institution;  

c. A description of the evaluative method used; and  

d. A schedule of tuition and fees.  

2. Verification of approval or exemption from regulation from the appropriate government agency in its 
state of domicile.  

3. Such additional information as the board or department may deem necessary.  
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8VAC20-60-30. Approval renewal.  

Approval of the academic courses shall be renewed annually on or before August 1, provided the 
school verifies that it continues to meet the requirements of 8VAC20-60-50. Forms for this purpose 
shall be provided by the department.  

8VAC20-60-40. Review.  

Each school meeting the criteria listed in 8VAC20-60-50 is required to submit the material in 8VAC20-
60-20 for review every five years concurrent with the renewal affidavit.  

8VAC20-60-50. Approval criteria.  

Academic courses offered by schools submitting the information required by 8VAC20-60-20 of this 
chapter shall be approved if the following criteria have been met:  

1. The school is, in fact, a correspondence school as defined in this chapter;  

2. The courses offered are not in conflict with state or federal laws or regulations;  

3. The school evaluates the students' work on a periodic basis and maintains a permanent record of 
that work.  

8VAC20-60-60. Disclaimer.  

Board of Education's approval of correspondence courses is not an endorsement of the program as a 
substitute for public school programs nor is it an endorsement of the educational or operational 
philosophy of the school. Additionally, the approval of courses is not intended as an endorsement of the 
quality of the courses nor is it a conclusion that they are appropriate to meet the educational needs of 
the student or the assessment required by § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

It is manifest that parents who choose to educate their children at home through a correspondence 
course are directly responsible for the educational progress of their children and the adequacy of 
instruction. The General Assembly has provided a mechanism to ensure that a child is receiving 
adequate instruction at home by requiring annual competency testing or evaluation. This testing 
program or evaluation is a measure of educational adequacy and the determining factor in the decision 
regarding the continuation of home study.  

The approval of the board does not guarantee that a school has a refund policy for uncompleted 
courses. The Board of Education assumes no liability for damages or financial loss to parents using any 
course to meet Option iii of § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia relating to home instruction.  
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REGULATIONS GOVERNING DRIVER EDUCATION 

 

8VAC20-340-10. Driver education program.  

A. In accordance with provisions of the National Highway Safety Act of 1966 (23 USC § 401 et seq.) 
and § 46.2-334 of the Code of Virginia, local school boards shall determine whether to offer a 
driver education program, and, if offered, whether it will be elective or required. School divisions 
offering programs that comply with the standardized program of study and regulations established 
by the Board of Education and the provisions of § 22.1-205 of the Code of Virginia are entitled to 
participate in the distribution of state funds for driver education.  

 
B. A state-approved driver education program consists of a minimum of 36 periods of classroom 

instruction and 14 periods of in-car instruction (laboratory phase). The standardized driver 
education program established by the Board of Education requires that:  

 
1. Classroom and in-car instruction shall follow the standardized program of study.  

 
2. Local programs shall have the option that classroom driver education may be taught in lieu of 

36 class periods of health education or as an elective course.  
 

3. Superintendents and heads of private schools must seek program approval from the Department 
of Education prior to providing instruction and certify that the proposed program meets all state-
approved program requirements.  
 

4. The length of a class period must be a minimum of 50 minutes.  
 

5. Students must drive a minimum of 50 miles during the in-car phase of instruction.  
 

6. In-car instruction must be limited to no more than two periods of instruction in any 24-hour 
period, of which at least one must be actual driving.  
 

7. No more than four periods of actual driving and four periods of observation on a multiple-car-
range can count towards the 14-period in-car requirement.  
 

8. Combination, on-street, simulation, and multiple-car-range programs must provide at least six 
periods of on-street driving and observation, four periods of multiple-car-range driving and 
observation, and eight periods of simulation.  
 

9. Only fees approved by the Board of Education shall be collected for the laboratory phase of 
driver education pursuant to the Appropriation Act.  
 

10. Public or private schools must submit classroom and in-car driver education teachers' driver 
license information for driver record monitoring as required by § 46.2-340 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
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11. Local school boards must develop written policies concerning initial or continued employment 
of classroom and in-car teachers who receive excessive demerit points on their driving record.  
 

12. Public and private schools must provide the Department of Education with the previous year's 
program data to calculate in-car basic aid reimbursement and to monitor program compliance.  
 

13. Classroom and laboratory phases of the program must be offered concurrently at the same 
school, or allow only a limited amount of time to elapse between classroom completion and 
laboratory instruction.  
 

14. Students who have not successfully completed the classroom phase at one school cannot begin 
in-car instruction at another school.  
 

15. Successful completion of a standardized end-of-course road skills assessment must be achieved 
prior to the school issuing a 90-day provisional license.  

8VAC20-340-20. Driver education vehicles.  

The school division or school shall:  

1. Provide a vehicle in excellent mechanical condition, equipped with dual-control brakes, a roof 
top sign, dual side mirrors, and safety restraints;  

 
2. Ensure all driver education vehicles are equipped with restraint systems of the type approved by 

the Department of State Police in accordance with §§ 46.2-1093 and 46.2-1095 of the Code of 
Virginia;  
 

3. Provide a vehicle with a current Virginia inspection sticker and license plate;  
 

4. Insure the vehicle above the minimum amount required by state statute for liability and property 
damage; and  
 

5. Identify the instructional vehicle by displaying "DRIVER EDUCATION VEHICLE" and name 
of school (or school division) attached to the top of the vehicle. The school name does not have 
to be on the rooftop sign and may appear in another visible location on the vehicle.  

8VAC20-340-30. Teacher requirements.  

The standardized driver education program established by the Board of Education requires that 
teachers:  

1. Hold a valid Virginia teaching license with an add-on endorsement or approved program 
endorsement in driver education; or, for in-car instruction, satisfy the paraprofessional training 
requirements;  

 
2. Hold a valid Virginia driver's license; or, for teachers with valid out-of-state driver's licenses, 

provide the Department of Education with a copy of their driving record at the beginning of 
each semester, at the beginning of summer school, and when they receive a moving violation;  
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3. Have a broad background of driving experiences (two years minimum) in cities, rural roadways 
and highways;  

 
4. Possess sound physical, mental and emotional qualities;  

 
5. Have a satisfactory driving record; teachers who have accumulated six or more demerit points 

shall be removed from providing behind-the-wheel instruction for a period of 24 months, (no 
public or private school shall retain its driver education program approval by the Department of 
Education unless the teacher is removed);  
 

6. Who have had their license suspended or revoked, or who have received a Driving Under the 
Influence (DUI) arrest or conviction, be immediately removed from any classroom or laboratory 
driver education teaching assignment;  
 

7. Obtain parent/guardian permission to enroll a student in the laboratory phase of instruction;  
 

8. Make every reasonable effort to protect students from injury;  
 

9. Ensure the proper use of safety restraints by all persons occupying the driver education vehicle;  
 

10. Ensure that the student driver has in his possession a valid Virginia learner's permit when 
operating a driver education vehicle;  
 

11. Have at least two students, or no more than three students, in the car; however, when it is in the 
best interest of the student, and with prior written permission from the parents or legal 
guardians, one student may be scheduled for in-car instruction;  
 

12. Shall not allow the driver education vehicle to be used by any student during on-street 
instruction without the teacher being in the vehicle providing direct instruction. If the vehicle is 
parked and students remain in the vehicle, the keys shall be removed by the teacher. In no event 
should the vehicle's engine remain running with students inside the vehicle without the teacher 
also being inside the vehicle; and  
 

13. Shall not allow the driver education vehicle to be used during multiple-car range instruction 
without teacher supervision.  

DOCUMENT INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE (8VAC20-340)  

Curriculum Guide of Driver Education in Virginia  

 
8VAC 20-340-40.  Approval of Correspondence Courses for Driver Education.  
 
A. Definitions.   
 

The following words or terms, when used in these regulations, shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

 
"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education. 
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"Correspondence school" means a school, organization, or other entity, no matter how 
titled, that teaches students by mailing them lessons and exercises which upon completion 
are returned to the school for grading.  Such lessons or exercises also may be transmitted 
and graded by electronic means. 
 
"Course" means the presentation of an orderly sequence of material dealing with an 
individual subject area such as driver education. 
 
"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 
 
"Home instruction" means the teaching of a child or children by a teaching parent in the 
home as an alternative to meeting the requirements of compulsory attendance as defined in 
§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia and as a means of complying with § 22.1-254.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
 
"Parent" means any parent, guardian, legal guardian, or other person having control or 
charge of a child as specified in § 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.   
 
"School" means a correspondence school for driver education programs. 

 
B. Required Submissions. 

  
Schools seeking approval to offer the classroom portion of a driver education program to 
school-age children through a correspondence program or course in Virginia shall submit 
the following: 

 
1. A signed and completed copy of the Department’s Affidavit form. 

 
2. A catalog or other documents containing the following information: 

 
a) A statement of ownership or control of the institution; 
 
b) Descriptions of the driver education courses offered by the institution; 
 
c) A description of the method used to evaluate the students’ work;  
 
d) A schedule of tuition and fees; including its refund policies; and 
 
e) Copies of all application forms and enrollment agreements used by the school. 
 

3. Verification of approval or exemption from regular oversight from the appropriate state or 
local government agency in the school’s state of domicile. 

 
4. Information regarding its accreditation status. 
 
5. The name and publisher of the textbook required. 
 
6. An estimate of the minimum amount of time (in hours) required to complete the course. 
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7. Such additional information as the Board or Department may deem necessary. 

 

C. All schools must evaluate the students’ work at regular intervals specified by the 
Department and maintain a permanent record of the work.   

 
D. Each school meeting the criteria listed in these regulations is required to submit the 

required materials for review every year concurrent with the renewal Affidavit. 
 
E. Approval Criteria 
 

Driver education courses offered by schools submitting the materials required by these 
regulations shall be approved if the following criteria have been met: 

 
1. The school is, in fact, a correspondence school as defined in these regulations; 

2. The courses offered are consistent with state or federal laws or regulations;  

3. The school evaluates the students' progress at regular intervals specified by the 
Department and maintains a permanent record of that work; and 

4. The content of each course is accurate, rigorous, and meets the requirements of 
the Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education which includes 
the Driver Education Standards of Learning. 

 
The school must provide evidence that at least two subject matter experts have 
reviewed and validated the accuracy of online content and textbook materials. 
 

F. The Department will consider an application complete when it determines that all required 
information has been submitted in the form required by the Department.  If the Department 
finds the application incomplete, the applicant will be notified in writing within 45 days of 
receipt of the incomplete application.  If the applicant does not resubmit a complete 
application within 45 days from the notification, the case file for the request for approval as 
a provider will be closed.  Prior to closure, the applicant may withdraw the request for 
approval.  The applicant may resubmit a complete application at a later time. 

 

G. Approval Process 

After a review of the complete application, the Department will notify the applicant of its 
decision regarding approval.  If the application is approved, the Department will issue a 
letter of approval with terms of the approval.  If the Department denies or revokes the 
approval for good cause, the Department will issue a letter stating the reasons for 
revocation and denial including information regarding the applicant’s right to appeal this 
decision. 

 
H. Appeal Process for Denial or Revocation   

1. Fact-finding conference; notification, appearance, conduct. 
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a) Unless emergency circumstances exist that require immediate action, no application shall 
be denied, suspended or revoked except upon notice stating the proposed basis for such 
action and the time and place for a fact-finding conference.  

 
b) If a basis exists for a refusal to approve or a suspension or a revocation of the Department’s 

approval, the Department shall notify, by certified mail or by hand delivery, the interested 
parties at the address of record maintained by the Department. 
 

c) Notification shall include the basis for the proposed action and any information in the 
possession of the Department that can be relied upon in making an adverse decision.  

d) The fact-finding conference shall afford the interested party the opportunity to present 
written and oral information to the Department that may have a bearing on the proposed 
action at a fact-finding conference.  Such information should include a brief, written 
statement of errors the party believes were made in the Department’s decision.  

e) If no withdrawal occurs, a fact-finding conference shall be scheduled at the earliest 
mutually agreeable date, but no later than 60 days from the date of the notification. A 
school wishing to waive its right to a conference to proceed directly to a formal hearing 
shall notify the Department of such at least 14 days before the scheduled conference. 

f) The Department may rely on public data, documents or information in making its decision if 
all parties are given advance notice of the Department’s intent to rely on such data.  

g) If after consideration of information presented during an informal fact-finding conference, a 
basis for adverse action still exists, the Department shall send to the interested parties a 
report on the fact-finding conference within 90 days of the conference, via certified or hand-
delivered mail, which shall include the decision, a brief and general description of the 
factual or procedural basis for the decision, and the right to a formal hearing.  

h) Parties may enter into a consent agreement to settle the issues at any time prior to, during 
or subsequent to an informal fact-finding conference. 

2. Hearing; notification, appearance, conduct. 

a) If an interested party intends to request a formal hearing, it shall notify the Department 
within 30 days of receipt of a report on the fact-finding conference.  

 
b) Parties shall be given reasonable notice of the (i) time, place, and nature of the hearing, (ii) 

basic law under which the Department contemplates its possible exercise of authority, and 
(iii) matters of fact and law asserted or questioned by the Department.  

 
c) If an interested party or representative fails to appear at a hearing, the hearing officer may 

proceed in the party’s/representative’s absence and make a recommendation. 
 
d) Oral and written arguments may be submitted to and limited by the hearing officer. Oral 

arguments shall be recorded in an appropriate manner. 
 
e) The burden of proof at such hearings shall be on the party seeking to reverse the decision of 
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the Department.  

3. Hearing location. Hearings before a hearing officer shall be held, insofar as practical, in the 
county or city in which the school is located. Hearing officers may conduct hearings at 
locations convenient to the greatest number of persons or by telephone conference, 
videoconference or similar technology in order to expedite the hearing process.  No hearing 
shall be located outside of the state of Virginia unless it is held by electronic means as specified 
in the Code of Virginia.   

4. Hearing decisions. 
 

a) Recommendations of the hearing officer shall be a part of the record and shall include a 
written statement of the hearing officer's findings of fact and recommendations as well as 
the reasons or basis for the recommendations. Recommendations shall be based upon all the 
material issues of fact, law or discretion presented on the record. 
 

b) The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review the recommendation of the hearing 
officer and render a decision on the recommendation within 30 days of receipt. The decision 
shall cite the appropriate rule, relief or denial thereof as to each issue. 

 
c) The Superintendent’s decision regarding the school’s approval shall be delivered to the 

concerned parties within 5 days of the decision and include a brief statement of the 
conclusions, the basis of the conclusions, the basic law upon which the Department relies, 
the recommendation of the hearing officer.  
 

5. Agency representation. The Superintendent’s designee may represent the Department in an 
informal conference or at a hearing. 

I. Determination of Continued Compliance 

 
Approval of the academic courses shall be renewed annually on or before August 1, 
provided the school verifies that it continues to meet the requirements of these regulations.  
Forms for this purpose shall be provided by the Department. 

 
J. Disclaimer 
 

The Board of Education’s approval of a correspondence course is not an endorsement of the 
program as a substitute for public school programs nor is it an endorsement of the 
educational or operational philosophy of the school.  Additionally, the approval of courses 
is not intended as an endorsement of the quality of the courses nor is it a conclusion that 
these courses meet the educational needs of the student or the assessment required by § 
22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

 
Parents who choose to educate their children at home through a driver education 
correspondence course are directly responsible for the educational progress of their 
children and the adequacy of instruction.  The Board of Education assumes no liability for 
damages or financial loss to parents using any of the approved driver education 
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correspondence courses.   
 
K. Restrictions 
 

No school whose courses are approved as a driver education program shall advertise in any 
way that the courses have the endorsement, recommendation, accreditation, recognition, or 
any other similar term, of the Board,  the Department, or the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 

L. Transmitting the Affidavit, Documents and Other Materials 
 

The Affidavit, related letters, forms, and other required application materials, must be 
submitted to the Division of Instruction at the Virginia Department of Education by e-mail 
to the Driver Education Specialist, whose contact information may be found at 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/directories/index.shtml#vdoe  

DOCUMENT INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE (8VAC20-340)  

Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education which includes the Driver Education 
Standards of Learning 
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Agency name Virginia Board of Education 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

8 VAC 20-60 

Regulation title Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for 
Home Instruction 

Action title This action repeals 8 VAC 20-60, Regulations Governing the Approval 
of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction 

Date this document prepared October 3, 2013 

 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 14 (2010) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 
 

Brief summary  
 
Please provide a brief summary (no more than 2 short paragraphs) of the proposed new regulation, 
proposed amendments to the existing regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.  
Also, please include a brief description of changes to the regulation from publication of the proposed 
regulation to the final regulation.   
              
 
The 1984 General Assembly adopted legislation amending the state’s compulsory attendance laws (§ 
22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia) to allow parents to teach their children at home in lieu of sending them 
to a public or private school.  One of the provisions qualifying parents to home instruct their children 
permitted them to enroll a child in a correspondence course approved by the Board of Education.  (§ 
22.1-254.1 of the Code)  On July 20, 1984, the Board of Education adopted criteria for the approval of 
correspondence courses.  Section 22.1-254.1 of the Code was later amended to allow correspondence 
courses addressing academic subjects to be approved by the Superintendent of Public Instruction. 
 
The 2008 General Assembly adopted HB 767, which removed the correspondence course approval 
requirement in § 22.1-254.1, so that parents who home school may use any correspondence course of 
their choosing to meet this option (with the exception of driver education).  As a result of this action, the 
Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction are no longer 
necessary and need to be repealed.  Section 22.1-205 of the Code requires that the Board approve 
correspondence courses related to driver education.  In a separate action, there is a proposal for a new 



Town Hall Agency Background Document     Form: TH-03 
 
 

 2

section governing the approval of correspondence courses for driver education to be added to the 
Regulations Governing Driver Education. 
 
At its meeting on October 28, 2010, the Board of Education approved the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action (NOIRA) to repeal the Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home 
Instruction and amend the Regulations Governing Driver Education.  At its meeting on September 22, 
2011, the Board approved the proposed regulatory actions.  At its meeting on October 24, 2013, the 
Board is expected to take final action on these regulations. 
 

Statement of final agency action 
 
Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency or board taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                
 
At its October 24, 2013 meeting, the Board of Education is expected to take action to repeal the 
Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction and amend the 
Regulations Governing Driver Education. 
 

Legal basis 
 
Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including 
(1) the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if 
applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Your citation should include a 
specific provision authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well 
as a reference to the agency/board/person’s overall regulatory authority.  
              
 
Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia vests the Board of Education with the authority to promulgate 
such regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1.  
Section 22.1-254.1 was amended by the General Assembly and no longer requires the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction to approve correspondence courses for families who home school their children.  
 

Purpose  
 
The proposed regulatory action would delete an obsolete set of regulations, Regulations Governing the 
Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction.    
 

Substance 
 
Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  A more detailed discussion is required under the “All changes made in this 
regulatory action” section.   
               
 
The proposed change will repeal an outdated set of regulations (the Regulations Governing the Approval 
of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction).  The need for a separate set of regulations was 
eliminated by an amendment to § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia by the 2008 General Assembly.   
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Issues  
 
Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate.    
              
  
This regulatory action does not pose a disadvantage to the public or to the Commonwealth in any way. 
 

Changes made since the proposed stage 
 
Please describe all changes made to the text of the proposed regulation since the publication of the 
proposed stage. For the Registrar’s office, please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   
              
 
None 
 

Public comment 
 
Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the proposed stage, and provide the agency response.  If no comment was received, please so indicate.  
                
 
None 
 

All changes made in this regulatory action 
 
Please list all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.  
Describe new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.     
              
 
Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 
number, if 
applicable 

Current requirement Proposed change and rationale 

8 VAC 
20-60-10 
through 8 
VAC 20- 
60-100 

N/A These regulations set out 
requirements for the 
approval of correspondence 
courses for home 
instruction by the 
Superintendent of Public 
Instruction. 

The 2008 General Assembly adopted HB 
767 which eliminated from § 22.1-254.1 the 
requirement that the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction approve correspondence courses 
available to parents who home school.  Since 
these regulations are no longer needed for 
approval of correspondence courses, these 
regulations are being repealed.  However, as 
approval of correspondence courses for 
driver education programs is still required by 
§ 22.1-205, much of the language in the 
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Regulations Governing the Approval of 
Correspondence Courses for Home 
Instruction will be moved to the Regulations 
Governing Driver Education.  This revision 
will delete obsolete language and clarify 
approval requirements 
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Agency name Virginia Board of Education 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

8 VAC 20-340 

Regulation title Regulations Governing Driver Education 

Action title This action adds a new section to 8 VAC 20-340, Regulations 
Governing Driver Education, which regulates driver education 
correspondence courses used by students who are homeschooled. 

Date this document prepared October 3, 2013 

 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 14 (2010) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 
 

Brief summary  
 
Please provide a brief summary (no more than 2 short paragraphs) of the proposed new regulation, 
proposed amendments to the existing regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.  
Also, please include a brief description of changes to the regulation from publication of the proposed 
regulation to the final regulation.   
              
 
The 1984 General Assembly adopted legislation amending the state’s compulsory attendance laws (§ 
22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia) to allow parents to teach their children at home in lieu of sending them 
to a public or private school.  One of the provisions qualifying parents to home instruct their children 
permitted them to enroll a child in a correspondence course approved by the Board of Education.  (§ 
22.1-254.1 of the Code)  In 1999, the General Assembly amended § 22.1-205 of the Code to permit the 
Board to approve correspondence courses in the classroom portion of driver education for parents who 
home school their children.   
 
The 2008 General Assembly adopted HB 767 which removed the correspondence course approval 
requirements in § 22.1-254.1 so that parents who home instruct can use any correspondence course of 
their choosing to meet this option rendering the previous approval requirement moot.  As a result of this 
action, the Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction is no 
longer necessary and is being repealed.  However, the requirement for the approval of correspondence 
courses for driver education by this Department remains.  In order to ensure continued compliance with 
this requirement, a new section governing the approval of correspondence courses for driver education 
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by this Department will be added to the Regulations Governing Driver Education; thus, consolidating the 
process for approval of correspondence courses for driver education in one set of regulations.  This 
streamlines the current approval process and provides clarity for users. 
 
The proposed new section of the revised regulation, the Regulations Governing Driver Education, 
includes the definition section from the repealed regulation with minor revisions and also adds a definition 
for the term “parent.”  In addition, the revised regulation requires the applicant to submit to the 
Department as part of the application process an affidavit; a schedule of tuition and fees, a description of 
its refund policy; and copies of all application forms and enrollment agreements used by the 
correspondence program.  Broad language in the current regulation allows the Department to ask for this 
information, but the more specific language in the proposed regulation enables all users to be fully aware 
of the regulatory expectations.  Moreover, the approval criteria have been expanded to add a requirement 
that the content of each course meets the requirements of the Driver Education Standards of Learning  
and the Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education.  An appeals process has also been 
added to clarify the applicant’s right to due process.  
 
At its meeting on October 28, 2010, the Board of Education approved the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action (NOIRA) to repeal the Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home 
Instruction and amend the Regulations Governing Driver Education.  At its meeting on September 22, 
2011, the Board approved the proposed regulatory actions.  At its meeting on October 24, 2013, the 
Board is expected to take final action on these regulations. 
 

Statement of final agency action 
 
Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency or board taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                
 
At its October 24, 2013 meeting, the Board of Education is expected to take action to repeal the 
Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction and amend the 
Regulations Governing Driver Education. 
 

Legal basis 
 
Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including 
(1) the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if 
applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Your citation should include a 
specific provision authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well 
as a reference to the agency/board/person’s overall regulatory authority.  
              
 
Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia vests the Board of Education with the authority to promulgate 
such regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1.  
Section 22.1-205 of the Code provides the Board with the authority to approve correspondence courses 
for the classroom training component of driver education.   
 

Purpose  
 
The proposed regulatory action is essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens in that it 
will ensure that courses offered by correspondence schools in driver education will meet state 
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requirements for such programs.  It will also help ensure that young aspiring drivers receive adequate 
instruction prior to seeking a driver’s license.   
 
A new section regarding approval of correspondence courses for driver education will be added to the 
Regulations Governing Driver Education; thus, consolidating the process for approval of correspondence 
courses for driver education in one set of regulations.  This will streamline the current process and delete 
an obsolete set of regulations, Regulations Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for 
Home Instruction.    
 

Substance 
 
Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  A more detailed discussion is required under the “All changes made in this 
regulatory action” section.   
               
 
The proposed change will repeal an outdated regulation (the Regulations Governing the Approval of 
Correspondence Courses for Home Instruction) initially adopted by the Board of Education in 1985 and 
revise a current regulation (the Regulations Governing Driver Education) directed specifically at approving 
driver education courses offered as correspondence programs.  The need for a separate set of 
regulations was eliminated by an amendment to § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia by the 2008 General 
Assembly.   
 
The proposed new section of the revised regulation, the Regulations Governing Driver Education, 
includes the definition section from the repealed regulations with minor revisions and also adds a 
definition for the term “parent.” In addition, the revised regulation requires the applicant to submit to the 
Department as part of the application process an Affidavit; a schedule of tuition and fees, a description of 
its refund policy; and copies of all application forms and enrollment agreements used by the 
correspondence program. All of the revisions are proposed to protect the parents and students who use 
these programs. Moreover, the approval criteria have been expanded to add a requirement that the 
content of each course meet the requirements of the Driver Education Standards of Learning  and the 
Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education.  An appeals process has also been added to 
clarify the applicant’s right to due process.  
 

Issues  
 
Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate.    
              
  
This proposal will ensure that courses approved by the Board of Education and offered by driver 
education correspondence programs will meet the minimal requirements for such programs offered in 
public schools.  It will also help ensure that young aspiring drivers receive adequate instruction prior to 
seeking a driver’s license.  This should ensure better drivers and a safer public.  In addition, the proposed 
revisions will protect the parents and students who use these programs. 
 
This regulatory action does not pose a disadvantage to the public or to the Commonwealth in any way. 
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Changes made since the proposed stage 
 
Please describe all changes made to the text of the proposed regulation since the publication of the 
proposed stage. For the Registrar’s office, please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   
              
 
None 
 

Public comment 
 
Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the proposed stage, and provide the agency response.  If no comment was received, please so indicate.  
                
 
None 
 

All changes made in this regulatory action 
 
Please list all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.  
Describe new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.     
              
 
Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 
number, if 
applicable 

Current requirement Proposed change and rationale 

N/A 8 VAC 20-
340-40 

N/A The proposed change will revise a current 
regulation (the Regulations Governing Driver 
Education) directed specifically at approving 
driver education courses offered as 
correspondence programs.  These programs 
are currently being regulated under an 
obsolete set of regulations (the Regulations 
Governing the Approval of Correspondence 
Courses for Home Instruction) initially 
adopted by the Board of Education in 1985.  
The need for a separate set of regulations 
was eliminated by an amendment to § 22.1-
254.1 of the Code of Virginia by the 2008 
General Assembly.   
 
The proposed new section of the revised 
regulation, the Regulations Governing Driver 
Education, includes the definition section 
from the repealed regulations with minor 
revisions and also adds a definition for the 
term “parent.” In addition, the revised 
regulation requires the applicant to submit to 
the Department as part of the application 
process an Affidavit; a schedule of tuition and 
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fees; a description of its refund policy; and 
copies of all application forms and enrollment 
agreements used by the correspondence 
program. All of the revisions are proposed to 
protect the parents and students who use 
these programs.  
 
Moreover, the approval criteria have been 
expanded to add a requirement that the 
content of each course meets the 
requirements of the Driver Education 
Standards of Learning  and the Curriculum 
and Administrative Guide for Driver 
Education.  An appeals process has also 
been added to clarify the applicant’s right to 
due process.  
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