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Multidivision Online Provider Legislation and Application Process  

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)  

  
What is a multidivision online provider?  

The Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.23 defines a multidivision online provider as: "(i) a private or 

nonprofit organization that enters into a contract with a local school board to provide online courses 

or programs through that school board to students who reside in Virginia both within and outside the 

geographical boundaries of that school division; (ii) a private or nonprofit organization that enters 

into contracts with multiple local school boards to provide online courses or programs to students in 

grades K through 12 through those school boards; or (iii) a local school board that provides online 

courses or programs to students who reside in Virginia but outside the geographical boundaries of 

that school division. However, "multidivision online provider" shall not include (a) a local school 

board's online learning program in which fewer than 10 percent of the students enrolled reside 

outside the geographical boundaries of that school division; (b) multiple local school boards that 

establish joint online courses or programs in which fewer than 10 percent of the students enrolled 

reside outside the geographical boundaries of those school divisions; (c) local school boards that 

provide online learning courses or programs for their students through an arrangement with a public 

or private institution of higher education; or (d) local school boards providing online courses or 

programs through a private or nonprofit organization that has been approved as a multidivision 

online provider.” See http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13/section22.1-212.23/.    

Our school division operates a virtual school program for our students; however, we do have 

some out-of-district students who take our classes. Do we now need to apply as a 

multidivision online provider?  

The Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.23 definition of a multidivision online provider includes the following: 

“a local school board that provides online courses or programs to students who reside in Virginia but 

outside the geographical boundaries of that school division. However, "multidivision online provider" 

shall not include (a) a local school board's online learning program in which fewer than 10 percent of 

the students enrolled reside outside the geographical boundaries of that school division; (b) multiple 

local school boards that establish joint online courses or programs in which fewer than 10 percent of 

the students enrolled reside outside the geographical boundaries of those school divisions; (c) local 

school boards that provide online learning courses or programs for their students through an 

arrangement with a public or private institution of higher education; or (d) local school boards 

providing online courses or programs through a private or nonprofit organization that has been 

approved as a multidivision online provider.” See 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13/section22.1-212.23/.    

 

 
  
We use content from an outside vendor to provide virtual programs to students in our 

division only. Do we apply as a multidivision online provider? Or does our vendor need to 

apply?  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13/section22.1-212.23/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13/section22.1-212.23/
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No. Neither the school division nor the vendor would need to apply as a multidivision online 

provider when the virtual program is provided only to students in one division.   

The Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.23 states that multidivision online providers are private or nonprofit 

organizations that enter into contracts with local school boards to provide online courses or 

programs through that school board.   

The Code defines an online course as: “A course or grade-level subject instruction that  

(i) is delivered by a multidivision online provider primarily electronically using the Internet or other 

computer-based methods and (ii) is taught by a teacher primarily from a remote location, with 

student access to the teacher given synchronously, asynchronously, or both.”  

The Code defines a virtual school program as “A series of online courses with instructional 

content that (i) is delivered by a multidivision online provider primarily electronically using the 

Internet or other computer-based methods; (ii) is taught by a teacher primarily from a remote 

location, with student access to the teacher given synchronously, asynchronously, or both; (iii) is 

delivered as a part-time or full-time program; and (iv) has an online component with online 

lessons and tools for student and data management.”  

 
Can local school boards contract with a multidivision online provider that offers virtual 

school programs that have not been approved by the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction?  

Not under the requirements of the multidivision online provider legislation.  

Our school already has a contract in place with an online program provider. Can we 

continue to use this provider?  

Beginning with the fall of 2011, school divisions may only enter contracts with approved 

multidivision online providers in order to provide virtual programs in accordance with the 

multidivision online provider legislation. The complete list of approved multidivision online providers 

is available on the Department of Education Web site.  

Can providers offer full-time or part-time programs?  

School divisions may chose the online or blended learning program and provider from the 

approved provider list that is most appropriate for their students.  

Can providers offer blended learning programs?  

Blended learning courses or programs deliver content, instruction, and support by blending the 

Internet and face-to-face interaction. Other computer-based methods may also be used, in addition 

to a local teacher, mentor, or parent. School divisions may chose the online or blended learning 

program and provider from the approved provider list that is most appropriate for their students.  
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Can school divisions charge tuition for virtual courses?  

A resident student of a division may not be charged tuition for a virtual course offered by that 

division during the regular school year.  

Tuition may be charged to students who reside outside of the school division.  

Can school divisions charge tuition for virtual courses offered during summer term or 

that a student takes outside the school day?  

Per the Code of Virginia 22.1-5, in the discretion of the school board, tuition may be charged to 

persons of school age who reside in the school division and who are enrolled in summer 

programs, exclusive of required remediation as provided in § 22.1-253.13:1, or in local initiatives 

or programs not required by the Standards of Quality or the Standards of Accreditation.  

In addition, tuition may be charged to students who reside outside of the school division.  

Can school divisions prohibit parents from enrolling their child in an approved online 

course during summer session if the course is being offered in the local school division?  

No. Parents may choose to enroll their students in approved online courses. According to the 

Standards of Accreditation in 8 VAC 20-131-60, school divisions should accept the completed 

course as transfer credit.  

What is the approval process time frame?  

Each year, the application window opens for 30 calendar days. At that time, the review process 

begins. Approved providers are notified within 45 business days of the close of the application 

period.  

The application window has already closed. Will there be another opportunity for us to 

submit courses for approval that we are currently developing?  

The next application window will be during the winter of 2014-2015 for organizations that wish to 

apply for the 2015-2016 school year.  

Who reviews the multidivision online provider applications?  

Applications have been reviewed by teams selected by VDOE and whose members have expertise 
in curriculum, instruction, online learning, counseling support, assessment and accountability, 
finance, staff quality, data collection and use, and technology and technical support. The 
applications were reviewed based on the Criteria for Approving Multidivision Online Providers. See 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/virtual_learning/virtual_schools/providers/application/criteria_
for_multidivision_provider.pdf   

 
 

 

 

 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-253.13:1/
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/virtual_learning/virtual_schools/providers/application/criteria_for_multidivision_provider.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/virtual_learning/virtual_schools/providers/application/criteria_for_multidivision_provider.pdf
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Is there an appeals process for providers who are denied initial approval?  

 

If the Superintendent of Public Instruction denies approval of an application, the applicant may 

submit a revised application within 30 business days of notification. The applicant is not required to 

submit a revised application. The Superintendent of Public Instruction will review any changes and 

either approve or deny the resubmitted application within 45 business days from the receipt of a 

resubmitted application.   

An applicant whose application has been denied by the Superintendent of Public Instruction, either 

upon the original submission of the application or upon submission of a revised application, may 

appeal the decision of the Superintendent of Public Instruction to the Virginia Board of Education. 

See 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/virtual_learning/virtual_schools/providers/application/procedu

res.pdf for more information about the appeal process.  

Once a provider receives approval, do they reapply each year?  

Approval is granted for a three-year period; however, an oversight committee of the Virginia 

Department of Education will conduct selected monitoring reviews of approved providers and their 

approved courses each year. The intent of the monitoring process is to provide oversight through 

periodic review of previously approved programs and to intervene when programs no longer meet 

the Criteria for Approving Multidivision Online Providers, including possible revocation of approved 

programs.   

A multidivision online provider that no longer meets the Criteria for Approving Multidivision Online 

Providers is placed on provisional status (they may continue to serve Virginia students currently 

enrolled in the multidivision online program but cannot enroll new students or enter into new 

multidivision online provider contracts) and must address the concerns of the oversight committee 

and the Superintendent of Public Instruction within 40 business days of receipt of notification. If the 

provider does not address the concerns to the satisfaction of the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction, the approval status of the provider may be revoked by the Virginia Board of Education 

at the end of the academic year or provisional status may be extended.  

 
What courses will be available in the fall?  

Providers will be approved generally according to the “Criteria for Approving Multidivision Online 

Providers”, but each course that a provider offers to Virginia students must be aligned with the 

Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL) and each course must be approved individually. Providers 

must submit SOL course correlation documentation that will be used in the approval process for 

each course. The list of approved courses is available on the Department’s Web site.  

If a parent enrolls a student in a virtual course offered by a multidivision online provider 

that is approved by the Superintendent of Public Instruction, does that guarantee that he 

will receive credit toward graduation?  

Students should enroll in virtual courses via their local school counselors to ensure that courses 

meet graduation requirements. The Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.27 states: “Any  

Revised March 13, 2013  
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student enrolled in any online course or virtual program offered by a local school division shall be 

enrolled in a public school in Virginia as provided in § 22.1-3.1. A student's parent or guardian 

shall give written permission prior to the enrollment of the student in any full-time virtual program 

offered by a local school division.” See 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13/section22.1-212.27/.   

 
What are the requirements for teacher licensure for online providers?  

The Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.26 requires that “Teachers who deliver instruction to students 

through online courses or virtual school programs shall be licensed by the Board of Education and 

shall be subject to the requirements of § 22.1-296.1 and § 22.1 

296.2 [that the teacher has not been convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors, and has not 

been the subject of a founded case of child abuse or neglect] applicable to teachers employed by a 

local school board. More information on these requirements may be found at 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/index.shtml.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13/section22.1-212.27/
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/index.shtml

