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2008 Triennial School Census Under Way  
Census Data Drives Distribution of State Sales Tax Proceeds 

 
Virginia’s 132 school divisions are gearing up for the 2008 Triennial School Census of school-age 
children. The triennial census count is used to distribute state sales tax proceeds to school divisions as 
a part of the commonwealth’s funding formula for public schools. State and local education officials are 
urging all residents to respond to the survey, regardless of whether they have children enrolled in public 
school. 
 
“It is important for all families with school-age children to respond to the census, even if their children 
attend private or parochial schools or are home-schooled,” said Superintendent of Public Instruction 
Billy K. Cannaday Jr. “If a school division receives less than its fair share of sales tax revenue, then the 
locality has to draw more deeply from resources that otherwise could be used to support other 
services.” 
 
The commonwealth returns 1.125 percent of the revenue collected through the five percent state sales 
and use tax to localities to support public education, which is approximately $1.1 billion for the current 
fiscal year. The money is distributed based on the number of school-age children (ages 5-19) counted 
during the triennial census. Revenues from the sales tax may be used by school divisions for 
maintenance, operations, capital projects and debt service. The 2005 Triennial School Census counted 
1,484,948 school-age children and young adults. 
 
State law designates January 1 through July 15 as the period for school divisions to conduct the 
census. Most school divisions begin distributing information — including census forms and instructions 
for completing the census online — to households in early spring. Some divisions employ enumerators 
to visit unresponsive households.   
 
The Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) has directed school divisions to report a summary count 
of all persons ages 5-19 residing within the localities served by the division no later than August 15. 
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