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Indicator 12: Part C to Part B Transition Technical Assistance Document 

 

 
Introduction to Indicator 12 

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) governs how states and public agencies 

provide early intervention, special education and related services to children.  Part C of IDEA 

provides the regulations for early intervention to infants and toddlers from birth through age 

three.  Part B of IDEA provides the regulations for special education and related services for 

school-aged children with disabilities (ages three-22 years).  

 

The transition from Part C to Part B services necessitates data collection because the U.S. Office 

of Special Education Programs (OSEP) requires states to report the percentage of children 

referred by Part C prior to age three, who are found eligible for Part B, and who have an 

Individualized Education Program (IEP) developed and implemented by the beginning of the 

school year if they turn age two by September 30 of that school year or by their third birthday.  

This data provides the necessary information for outcome Indicator 12.   

 

States are required to submit a performance plan which includes baseline data, targets, and 

improvement activities for all data indicators, including Indicator 12.  State data is reported in 

the State Performance Plan (SPP).  Reports on the state-level data and progress toward meeting 

the state targets are described in the Annual Performance Report (APR).  Indicator 12 is a 

compliance indicator, and therefore has a 100 percent compliance target.  The OSEP’s 

expectation is that states will meet the transition timeline with 100 percent of all children 

transitioning from Part C to Part B.   

 

 

 

Key Components of the Transition from Part C to Part B 

Agencies  

The Infant and Toddler Connection of Virginia (Part C of IDEA) is managed by the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS).  Early Childhood 

Special Education (Part B of IDEA) is managed by the Virginia Department of Education 

(VDOE).  Both agencies have responsibilities for ensuring the smooth and timely transition of 

children.  There are regulations governing both Part C and Part B of IDEA.  (Regulations for Part 

C can be found on the Infant and Toddler Connection of Virginia website at http://infantva.org/.) 

 

The Virginia Interagency Memorandum of Agreement among the Agencies Involved in 

Implementation of Part C of IDEA documents the understandings and commitments of 

participating agencies in the Virginia statutory requirements related to Part C.  The Virginia 

Interagency Memorandum of Agreement outlines the transition agreement between the DBHDS 

and VDOE.  The Transition Agreement section of this document can be found on the DOE 

website at http://www.doe.virginia.gov/special_ed/early_childhood/transition/index.shtml. 

http://infantva.org/
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/special_ed/early_childhood/transition/index.shtml
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The Memorandum of Agreement must be upheld by the local Infant and Toddler Connection 

(ITC) and Local Education Agencies (LEA) as they work to transition children from Part C to 

Part B.  Since local ITCs and LEAs must work together to develop understandings and 

procedures to ensure smooth and timely transitions, local interagency agreements that specify 

roles and responsibilities for accomplishing the transition planning and activities required under 

Part C and Part B of IDEA are required.  It is critical for ITCs and LEAs to be aware of these 

local interagency agreements and to consider the effectiveness of such agreements and modify as 

needed. 

 

Child’s Age 

In Virginia, children who reach the age of two on or before September 30 of any given year and 

who meet Part B eligibility requirements as defined in the Code of Virginia and in accordance 

with the Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities in 

Virginia are eligible to receive special education and related services through their local school 

divisions.   Notwithstanding the availability of a free appropriate public education (FAPE) at age 

two, a child remains eligible to receive Part C services until his/her third birthday.  Therefore, if 

a child turns two on or before September 30, parents may choose to have their child remain in 

Part C or transition to Part B.  The LEA can determine whether to serve children who turn two 

after September 30 for that school year.  The terminology “rolling enrollment” pertains to those 

children turning two after September 30.   

 

Children eligible for Part B preschool services are to transition from Part C to B by their third 

birthday.  Admission is to take place throughout the school year for these children.   

 

Children who are two on or before September 30 and who meet eligibility requirements are 

expected to have the eligibility and IEP process completed in order for the child to start the first 

day of the school year.  Children in Part C who are eligible for Part B and whose parents elect for 

them to continue in Part C until they are three are expected to have an IEP in place so the child 

can start Part B by their third birthday.  

 

According to the Virginia Interagency Memorandum of Agreement Among the Agencies Involved 

in Implementation of Part C of IDEA, DBHDS is to maintain financial responsibility and pay for 

supports and services listed on the Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) until the child’s 

third birthday or the earlier date on which the child begins Part B services (e.g., the beginning of 

the school year in which the child is two years old by September 30), to the extent those services 

are not otherwise paid for by public or private insurance, family fees or other third party payor 

sources.  Additionally, DBHDS remains financially responsible for two year olds who choose 

not to transition to Part B until their third birthday or who initially transition to Part B but choose 

to return to Part C prior to their third birthday.  The VDOE is to accept financial responsibility 

and pay for all special education and related services, as listed on an IEP, to a Part B eligible 

child beginning on the child’s third birthday or the earlier date on which the child is eligible for 

and the parent chooses to begin Part B services (e.g., the beginning of the school year in which 

the child is two years old by September 30 or some other point between the beginning of the 

school year and the child’s third birthday if the local school division offers rolling admission).  
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Part B Eligibility 

Any child receiving Part C services and suspected of having a disability may be referred to Part 

B.  This is done by making a referral to the school division where the child resides.  The 

eligibility requirements for Part C and Part B are different and can be found in the respective 

regulations.  For a child to be eligible for Part B services, he or she is to be evaluated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for 

Children with Disabilities in Virginia and determined to have  an intellectual disability, a hearing 

impairment (including deafness), a speech or language impairment, a visual impairment 

(including blindness), a serious emotional disability (referred to in this part as “emotional 

disability”), an orthopedic impairment, autism, traumatic brain injury, any other health 

impairment, a specific learning disability, deaf-blindness, or multiple disabilities who, by reason 

thereof, needs special education and related services.  This also includes developmental delay if 

the local educational agency recognizes this category as a disability. 

 

 

 

Steps of a Smooth and Timely Transition  

Transition Conference  

A Transition Conference is required, with parent consent, if the child is potentially eligible for 

Part B preschool services.  The Transition Conference is coordinated by the local ITC and: 

 

 Must be at least 90 days and can be up to nine months before the child’s anticipated date of 

transition; 

 Must meet the requirements of an Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) meeting; 

 Must include the family; 

 Must include a Part C representative; 

 Must include an LEA representative who is knowledgeable about services available in Early 

Childhood Special Education (ECSE) programs (any staff familiar with the ECSE program 

that can explain the program to the family); and 

 May be combined with a meeting to develop the transition plan. 

 

Initial Referrals  

In the case of a child who is suspected of having a disability and will soon reach the age of 

eligibility for preschool services under Part B, with parent consent, Part C is to provide 

notification to the LEA for the area in which a child resides.  This is known as a referral and is 

done by transmitting each child’s name, parent’s name(s), address, phone number and birth date 

to the child’s LEA of residence.  The referral is to be completed not fewer than 90 calendar days 

before that child reaches the age of eligibility for Part B.  Notification of children who will be 

age eligible for the coming school year is to be provided by April 1 to the LEA of the child’s 

residence unless there is a local interagency agreement specifying otherwise.  A notification will 

not be completed if a parent disagrees in accordance with the opt-out procedures specified in the 

Infant & Toddler Connection of Virginia Practice Manual.  
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The ITC and LEA must work together to ensure a smooth and timely transition.  Therefore, the 

following must be determined at the local level: 

 

 The person who sends the notification/referral from Part C; 

 The person who receives the notification/referral at the LEA; 

 How the information will be sent to the LEA; 

 Whether the referral information will be sent individually or in batches; and 

 The date by which referral information will be sent if earlier from those outlined in the 

Virginia Interagency Memorandum of Agreement. 

 

By mutual agreement between the ITC and the LEA, notification of children who will be age 

eligible for the coming school year can occur at once or be spread out over time provided 

regulatory requirements are met.  Local Education Agencies are to accept referrals any time of 

the year.  Summer months and breaks are considered the same as other months of the school 

year.   

 

The referral requires only the child’s name, birthdate, parent(s) name and contact information. 

When the LEA special education designee receives the child’s name and information, it is 

considered a referral and the regulatory timeline begins.  The referral may also include the 

service coordinator’s name and contact information and the language(s) spoken by the child and 

family.  Assessment information and the IFSP are not required for it to be a referral.   

 

Notification of the Referral to the Virginia Department of Education 

Part C is to also notify VDOE of referrals made to LEAs.  Notification to the VDOE will occur 

by entry or transfer of the notification information into a secure single sign-on web server hosted 

by VDOE. 

 

Late Referral to Part C 

If a child is referred to Part C between 45 and 90 days prior to the child being eligible to receive 

services from Part B, with parental permission, the LEA and Part C may conduct the eligibility 

evaluations together.  For children determined eligible for Part C (and the child is potentially 

eligible for Part B) notification to the LEA and DOE must occur as soon as possible after the 

determination of eligibility. 

 

For a child referred to Part C fewer than 45 days prior to the child’s third birthday, with parental 

consent, the local early intervention system refers the child to the LEA and DOE.  This is not 

considered notification from Part C.  Part C is not required to conduct an evaluation, assessment 

or develop an initial IFSP or transition plan for such children.  Part C may directly refer or have 

the parents refer the child to the LEA. 

 

For children referred to Part C fewer than 45 days prior to the child’s being age eligible at age 

two, to receive services from Part B, the local early intervention system is to directly refer or 

have the parent refer the child to the LEA.  This may occur instead of or in addition to 
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proceeding with the referral to Part C.  If the referral to Part B is made by the parent or is made 

prior to determining eligibility under Part C, then this is not considered a notification from Part 

C.   

 

 

Part B Eligibility 

For all children suspected of having a disability, LEAs are to follow the regulations outlined in 

the Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities in 

Virginia (found at http://www.doe.virginia.gov/special_ed/regulations/state/index.shtml) for 

determining whether a child has a disability and is eligible for special education and related 

services.  

 

A variety of assessment tools and strategies are used to gather relevant functional, 

developmental, and academic information about the child.  No single measure is to be used as the 

sole criterion.  Tools and strategies that provide information regarding the child’s involvement 

and progress in appropriate activities: 

 

 Must provide information about the child’s physical condition, social or cultural background, 

and adaptive behavior; 

 Must include information provided by the parent(s); 

 Must include an observation in the child’s learning environment (for the child less than 

school age, this is to be an environment appropriate for a child of that age that will provide 

authentic information regarding the child’s development); and 

 May include evaluation information from the Part C program as well as information from the 

IFSP.  

 

Prior written notice of the eligibility decision is provided to the parents.  This notice is required 

when a child is eligible, and when a child is not eligible for Part B services.  The notice must 

contain the required elements outlined in the Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia including the parent(s) right to appeal the 

decision through the due process hearing procedures.  

 

Timelines 

Upon receipt of the referral from Part C, the LEA Special Education Administrator is to begin 

the evaluation process.  Part B eligibility must be determined within 65 business days of receipt 

of the referral.  When the referral is received, the administrator shall within three business days: 

 Initiate the evaluation process; 

 Require that the school-based team review and respond to the request (the team is to meet 

within 10 business days following receipt of referral); or 

 Deny the request and provide prior written notice to the parent(s), including the parent’s right 

to appeal the decision through the due process hearing procedures. 

 

The 65 day timeline is the same during the entire year including the summer.  Business days are 

Monday to Friday, except for state and federal holidays.  Completing evaluations of children 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/special_ed/regulations/state/index.shtml
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referred in the summer in less than 65 days could result in the child starting services on the first 

day of school. 

 

Team Membership  

Membership at eligibility/IEP meetings includes parent(s), a regular education teacher, a special 

education teacher, an individual who can interpret the instructional implications of evaluations, 

and a representative of the LEA.  Parents are to be informed that the Part C Service Coordinator 

or other representative may be invited to the Part B Eligibility and IEP meetings.  Part C 

personnel are to be invited to the meeting(s) if the parent requests.  The regulations do not 

address whether written notice to Part C is required.  However, because States and LEAs are 

required to maintain records to show compliance with IDEA, it is good practice for the LEA to 

keep a record of the Part C person, or persons receiving the invitation, the date the invitation was 

sent, and a copy of the invitation or notes from a phone call extending the invitation. 

 

The LEA is to take steps to ensure that one or both of the parents of the child with a disability are 

present at each IEP meeting or are afforded the opportunity to participate.  If after multiple 

attempts, neither parent can attend, the LEA is to use other methods to ensure parent 

participation, including individual or conference telephone calls and audio conferences.  Every 

effort is to be taken to ensure that the parent(s) understand the purpose and the proceedings of 

the IEP meeting.  

 

Individualized Education Program (IEP) 

If the child is found eligible for special education and related services, an IEP is to be developed 

within 30 calendar days from eligibility date and implemented as soon as possible.  

 

The nature and amount of special education and related services is determined by the child’s IEP 

team.  The IEP team is to consider the child’s IFSP and whether there are components to be 

incorporated into the child’s IEP.  A schedule comparable in length to school age students is to 

be made available if determined appropriate by the IEP team.  Further, as stipulated in IDEA, to 

the maximum extent appropriate, children with disabilities must be educated with children who 

are not disabled.  The LRE requirements of the IDEA apply to all children with disabilities who 

are served under Part B of the IDEA, including preschool children with disabilities.  

 

IEP Implementation  

Once an IEP is developed, it is implemented as soon as possible.  The start date can be flexible 

but must be within a reasonable amount of time.  If a child turns three during the summer months 

and is found eligible to receive services, the IEP team must determine when services begin.  It is 

up to the IEP team to determine if the child waits until the following fall to receive services or if 

the child needs services immediately and requires Extended School Year (ESY) services.  If the 

child turns three during the summer, and does not require ESY services, special education and 

related services may begin in the new school year.  For example, the IEP may be written in June 

to start in September (first day of school).  
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Once the IEP is implemented, Part C services are to be terminated.  The child can continue 

receiving Part C services during the period of time when eligibility is being determined and the 

IEP being developed.  Part C services are to be discontinued once Part B services begin.  For 

some children who begin services and have an IEP implemented at the start of a new school year, 

it is possible for the child to continue receiving Part C services until the IEP is implemented.  

 

 

 

Reporting Indicator 12 

The Reporting period for Indicator 12 is July 1 through June 30.  An LEA must report on all 

children served and referred by Part C to Part B for eligibility determination.  If a child has not 

been served by Part C and is referred for special education services for the first time, he or she 

will not be included in the Indicator 12 count.  The child will be included in the Indicator 11 

Child Find “timeline” indicator.  This includes children referred by Part C but never evaluated or 

had an IFSP developed.  For the reporting period, LEAs are to report on those children who were 

referred, found eligible, and had an IEP developed.  If the child’s third birthday occurs during the 

summer, the IEP team must consider the date when services under the IEP will begin.  If the 

child does not need ESY services, the date of initiation of services may be the beginning of the 

school year and the IEP is considered “implemented” by the child’s third birthday for the 

purpose of Indicator 12. 

 

Instructions 

The LEAs are to report the children served and referred from Part C to Part B for eligibility 

determination.  Based on this number, the percentage of children who have an IEP developed by 

their third birthday is calculated.  The OSEP recognizes that not all children referred will be 

found eligible, thus not have an IEP developed.  Further, OSEP recognizes that there are reasons 

that an IEP may not be developed by the child’s third birthday that are beyond the control of the 

ITC and/or LEA.  Therefore, there are a number of exceptions that result in the exclusion in the 

final calculation.  These include:  

 

 Children not determined eligible due to withdrawal of parental consent, the child moved, or 

any extenuating circumstance; 

 Children that did not meet the time line because the parent repeatedly failed or refused to 

make the child available;  

 Children for whom parent refusal to provide consent caused delays in evaluation or initial 

services (e.g., referred less than 65 business days prior to age of eligibility); 

 Children who were referred to Part C less than 90 days before their third birthdays; or 

 Children determined to be NOT eligible and whose eligibility was determined prior to their 

third birthdays. 

 

All other reasons for a late IEP result in a finding of noncompliance.  This includes children 

referred to Part C more than 90 days before the child’s third birthday, served in Part C, but 

referred to Part B less than 90 days before the child’s third birthday.  In this case, the LEA is still 

responsible for ensuring that an initial evaluation under Part B is completed and, if the child is 
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determined eligible, an IEP is developed and implemented by the child’s third birthday.  It is the 

responsibility of both programs to work together to make sure that the LEA notification and 

transition conference for children referred for Part B occur in a timely manner that enables the 

LEA to meet its responsibility to conduct an evaluation and, if the child is determined eligible 

under Part B, to develop and implement an IEP.  Local Education Agencies are required to 

provide further documentation for those children that did not have an IEP implemented by the 

beginning of the school year if they turn age two by September 30 of that school year or by their 

third birthday.  The actual number of days the IEP was late as well as the reason(s) are to be 

documented and reported.    

 


