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Virginia Department of Education
Department of Teacher Education and Licensure
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, Virginia 23218-2120

	Foreign Language Endorsement Requirements for Individuals who Learned a Foreign Language without Formal Academic College or University Credit



The excerpt from the Licensure Regulations for School Personnel set forth endorsement requirements for candidates who have learned a foreign language without formal academic credit in a regionally accredited college or university.  The regulations states in part:

8VAC20-23-360. Foreign Language Prek-12.

4. Candidates who have learned a foreign language without formal academic credit in a regionally accredited college or university shall complete the following requirements:

a. Achieve a qualifying score on a foreign language assessment in the appropriate language as prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; and

b. Earn a minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of teaching foreign languages at the elementary and secondary levels from a regionally accredited college or university in the United States or obtain teacher certification in another country with at least 3 semester hours of methods of teaching foreign languages at the elementary and secondary levels at a foreign institution.

Please note that all conditions for licensure set forth in the Board of Education regulations and the Code of Virginia must be met.  All endorsement requirements for Virginia can be found in the Licensure Regulations for School Personnel at: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/. 

	Individuals Applying for an Initial Virginia Teaching License who have Learned a Foreign Language without Formal Academic Credit in a Regionally Accredited College or University



If you are currently employed by a Virginia school division, or accredited nonpublic school, your credentials must be submitted on your behalf by the employing educational agency.  Please contact your Human Resources Office to inquire who the licensure contact is in your school division or nonpublic accredited school.  

If you are not employed by a Virginia public school division, or nonpublic accredited school, and learned a foreign language without formal academic college or university credit, you may apply for an initial Virginia teaching license by submitting the following documents that can be found in the Application for a Virginia License at http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/index.shtml.  Submit the following documents requested, in a single packet to the Virginia Department of Education, Department of Teacher Education and Licensure, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2120.
1. Application Form
Please respond to all questions on the application form.  SIGN AND DATE BOTH PAGES OF THE APPLICATION.  Original signatures with a current date are required.  



2. Nonrefundable Fee 
A $100 in-state fee or $150 out-of-state fee is required.  The fee is determined by the address provided on the application.  A $50 processing fee is assessed for a check returned for any reason.  Returned checks are subject to collection action.
3. Emergency First Aid, CPR including Hands-on Practice, and AED Training or Certification  
Every person seeking initial licensure shall provide evidence of completion of certification or training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators (AED). Include documentation verifying this statutory requirement has been met.  The certification or training program shall (i) be based on the current national evidence-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross, and (ii) include hands-on practice of the skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation. The Board shall provide a waiver for this requirement for any person with a disability whose disability prohibits such person from completing this certification or training.

An individual requesting a waiver must submit a “Request for a Waiver Form.” 
The following must be included on the official document submitted to the licensure office by an individual:   
· Individual’s full name.
· Title or description of training or certification that clearly indicates that all three components were completed:  1) emergency first aid, 2) CPR including hands-on practice, and 3) use of AEDs.  Documentation must clearly indicate that hands-on CPR practice was included in the training.  If your documentation does not clearly indicate that hands-on practice was included, you will need to attach additional documentation such as a letter from the instructor.
· Date the training or certification was completed. 
· Signature and title of the individual providing the training or certification, or a printed certificate from the organization or group that provided the training or certification.  Legible copies of wallet-sized certification cards or other sized certifications containing the above information, from organizations providing current national evidence-based emergency cardiovascular care for cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of an automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross will be accepted. 
4. Dyslexia Awareness Training
Individuals seeking initial licensure shall complete awareness training on the indicators of dyslexia, as that term is defined by the Board pursuant to regulations, and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for dyslexia.  Include a copy of the certificate verifying completion of this statutory requirement.  A dyslexia module is available at no cost.  To print the certificate after completing the training, the computer must be connected to a printer.
5. Evaluation of Credentials
Individuals applying for an initial Virginia license who earned a degree from an institution in another country shall hold the equivalent of at least a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or university in the United States, as verified by a Virginia Department of Education approved credential evaluation agency.  The endorsement requirements for a foreign language endorsement can be found on the following website: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/section360/.  
Individuals who are seeking an educator license and who attended a college/university, and earned a degree outside of the United States, need to obtain an evaluation of their credentials conducted by one of the following agencies listed on the graduates of foreign institutes’ document.  To document degrees, the evaluation must include a statement regarding the equivalency of the program of study (such as baccalaureate degree or master’s degree) granted from a regionally accredited college or university in the United States.  The evaluation also must include a listing of the courses completed and the semester-hour equivalent for each course.  The evaluation may be accepted in lieu of an official transcript from the institution of higher education outside of the United States.  Please do not have evaluations sent directly to this office, include your evaluation in your packet.
6. Report on Experience (if applicable)  
This form must be completed by the appropriate official(s) at a public school division or accredited nonpublic school if you have completed at least one year of full-time contractual teaching or other contracted instructional school professional experience at a public or accredited nonpublic school.
7. Professional Teacher’s Assessment Scores
Include a copy of the score reports for the Virginia licensure assessments taken and passed.  Electronic scores sent to the Department from the testing companies are not always transferred; therefore, include copies of score reports (include the first page of the score reports).  
Testing Requirements Include:
a) The Virginia Communication and Literacy Assessment (VCLA) - The VCLA is required for individuals seeking an initial Virginia license.  For more information about the test content, test dates, costs, accommodations for individuals with disabilities, and registration, refer to the VCLA website, or contact Evaluation Systems Pearson at (866) 613-3292. 
b) Praxis Subject Area Assessment - Individuals are required to satisfy the Praxis Subject Area assessment requirement for only one endorsement area.  If an individual is seeking an endorsement in French, Spanish or German the Praxis is recommended.  Individuals who take ACTFL Oral and Writing Proficiency Assessments must still satisfy the Praxis Subject Area assessment requirement in the endorsement area in which the initial licensure is granted.  For information regarding registration, test administration, fees, and the policy for testing individuals with disabilities, etc., please refer to the  Educational Testing Service (ETS) website, or contact the ETS at 1-800-772-9476. 
c) The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Language (ACTFL) Oral and Writing Proficiency Assessments - ACTFL Oral and Writing Proficiency Assessments may be taken to meet endorsement requirements, or if the Board of Education has NOT prescribed a Praxis Subject Area Assessment.  The endorsement requirements for a foreign language endorsement can be found on the following website: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/section360/.  The Board of Education has approved the use of ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview, and the Writing Proficiency Test to allow native speakers or candidates who have learned a foreign language without formal academic credit in a college or university to meet the foreign language endorsement requirements by demonstrating proficiency on both the oral and written assessments.  

	The ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview takes the form of a carefully structured conversation between a trained and certified interviewer and the person whose speaking proficiency is being assessed.  The interview lasts from ten to thirty minutes.  

	The ACTFL Writing Proficiency Test is a standardized procedure for the global assessment of functional writing ability. The test requires the examinee to read prompts in English and compose written responses in the target language without the aid of dictionaries or grammar references.

	Individuals may apply for an initial Virginia license by taking ACTFL; and by taking 3 semester hours of methods of teaching foreign languages at the elementary and secondary levels from a regionally accredited college or university in the United States or obtain teacher certification in another country with at least 3 semester hours of methods of teaching foreign languages at the elementary and secondary levels at a foreign institution.  

	Individuals who take ACTFL Oral and Writing Proficiency Assessments must still satisfy the Praxis Subject Area assessment requirement in the endorsement area in which the initial licensure is granted if the Board of Education has a prescribed Praxis subject area assessment.  For a list of assessments prescribed by the Board of Education refer the Professional Teacher’s Assessments on the following website:  http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/index.shtml.  

	The Board of Education approved the proficiency level of “advanced low” for the ACTFL tests.  An individual may register for the ACTFL tests online.  If you have any questions, you may contact the Language Testing International at 1-800-486-8444.

	Individuals who hold a Valid Teaching License and Want to Add a Foreign Language Endorsement



An individual who holds a valid Virginia license issued by the Board of Education may add an additional teaching endorsement to the license by passing a rigorous academic subject test for endorsements in which a test is prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education.  You may review the current listing of Praxis assessments on the following website: http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/index.shtml.  To apply to add an endorsement, submit the following documents: 
1. Request for an Endorsement to be Added 
       Include a written request with your name, license number or Social Security number, and the foreign language endorsement you would like added to your valid Virginia license.    
2. Nonrefundable Fee 
       A $50 fee is required to add each endorsement.  A $50 processing fee is assessed for a check returned for any reason.  Returned checks are subject to collection action.
3. Professional Teacher’s Assessment Scores
      Include a copy of the score reports for the Virginia licensure assessments taken and passed (include the first page of the score reports).  Electronic scores sent to the Department from the testing companies are not always transferred; therefore, include copies of score reports. 
       Test Requirement Includes:
a) Board of Education Prescribed Praxis Subject Area Assessment - For information regarding registration, test administration, fees, and the policy for testing individuals with disabilities, etc., please refer to the ETS website, or contact the Educational Testing Service (ETS) at 1-800-772-9476; or
b) ACTFL Oral and Writing Proficiency Assessments – (ONLY if a Board of Education Prescribed Praxis Subject Area Assessment is not Available) 

	The ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview takes the form of a carefully structured conversation between a trained and certified interviewer and the person whose speaking proficiency is being assessed.  The interview lasts from ten to thirty minutes.

	The ACTFL Writing Proficiency Test is a standardized procedure for the global assessment of functional writing ability. The test requires the examinee to read prompts in English and compose written responses in the target language without the aid of dictionaries or grammar references.

[bookmark: _GoBack]The Board of Education approved the proficiency level of “advanced low” for the ACTFL tests.  An individual may register for the ACTFL tests online.  If you have any questions, you may contact the Language Testing International at 1-800-486-8444.

For additional information regarding alternate routes to licensure, refer to the Licensure Regulations for School Personnel: Section 90: Alternate Routes at: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/section90/.
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