VDOE Torch

News Release Logo

For Immediate Release
December 27, 2005
Contact: Charles Pyle
Director of Communications
(804) 371-2420
Julie Grimes
Public Information Officer
(804) 225-2775

Virginia Educators Honored
for Technology Leadership

The Virginia Department of Education honored eight outstanding educators with the Education Technology Leadership Award for their advocacy and use of educational technology in the commonwealth’s public schools. The awards were presented during the department’s Educational Technology Leadership Conference held December 5-7 in Roanoke.

“These individuals have demonstrated a shared vision and leadership in helping local school divisions to effectively use technology to support teaching, learning, and school administration and management,” said Assistant Superintendent for Technology Lan Neugent.

The Education Technology Leadership Award, presented annually, acknowledges outstanding school division leadership in education technology planning and implementation. Division superintendents in each of the department’s eight study regions select individuals for the award. Recipients are chosen because of their success in helping school divisions improve teaching and learning through the use of instructional media and technology. The 2005 winners are:

  • Jerry Canada, school board for Roanoke County public schools, Region Six
  • Danny Dixon, technology director for Scott County public schools, Region Seven
  • Thomas DeWeerd, director of secondary education for Goochland County public schools, Region One
  • Mitzi Fehl, technology integration specialist for Poquoson public schools, Region Two
  • Dan Hopper, technology coordinator for King George County public schools, Region Three
  • Maribeth Luftglass, assistant superintendent and chief information officer for Fairfax County public schools, Region Four
  • Harley Miles, supervisor for assessment and technical services for Charlottesville City public schools, Region Five
  • Bobby Waddell, director of technology and assessment for Prince Edward County public schools, Region Eight

Scott County’s Dixon was also recognized as the state award winner.

In addition, the Virginia Educational Technology Advisory Committee (VETAC), which advises the Virginia Board of Education on educational technology, presented its 2005 VETAC Leadership Award to Zahrl Schoeny, an associate professor of administrative technologies at the University of Virginia.