VDOE Torch

News Release Logo

For Immediate Release
May 2, 2005
Contact: Charles Pyle
Director of Communications
(804) 371-2420
Julie Grimes
Public Information Officer
(804) 225-2775

“May the Month for Children in Virginia”
Winners To Be Honored May 7

Recipients of the 2005 May the Month for Children awards will be recognized on Saturday, May 7. The ceremony will take place at Short Pump Middle School in Henrico County at 3 p.m.

The honorees were selected by the “May the Month for Children in Virginia” Task Force, supported by the Department of Education. The task force annually recognizes children, youth, and their mentors for the good they do in their communities.

Recipients in the Youth division, being honored with a special gift and a certificate from Governor Mark R. Warner, are as follows:

· Elizabeth Ambrose of Richmond
· Joshua Armistead-Williams of Springfield
· Maggie Armstrong of Mechanicsville
· Anna Christopher of Arlington
· Katie Karas of Fairfax Station
· Isamarie Maldonado of Newport News

· Maggie Marshall of Sterling
· Jessica McClean of McGaheysville
· Amanda Passera of Fredricksburg
· Stacie Rest of Callao
· Haley Stallard of Wytheville
· Auriel Walker of Callao

In addition, the task force will honor the following mentors:
· Sydney Chichester of Colonial Beach
· Michael Jackson of Crozet
· John Lucier of Gloucester
· Adrianna Sgarlata of Fairfax Station
· Margaret Socey of Weems
· Jay Theado of Richmond

The task force was formed as a result of a 1997 bill officially making May the “Month for Children in Virginia”. During May the task force focuses on children’s special contributions to family, school, and community and to bring attention to various issues impacting children in the commonwealth, the nation, and the world. The month-long commemoration also encourages Virginians to work to improve the lives and the futures of all children.

Forms are distributed each fall and nominations are accepted until February 1 from neighbors, peers, teachers and other community residents. The public is encouraged to nominate outstanding youth and mentors working to make their communities better. For more information, or to assist with the task force, contact Task Force Chair Melida McKee at Melida.McKee@roanokeva.gov or (540) 853-1269.