P. O. BOX 2120
June 14, 1996


TO: Division Superintendents
FROM: William C. Bosher, Jr.
Superintendent of Public Instruction
SUBJECT: Regional Schools Contracting and Planning Committee

  The Virginia Master Plan for Public Telecommunications
  specifies that each of the five public television regions will
  be represented by a Regional Schools Contracting and Planning
  Committee, known as the RSCPC.  The RSCPCs are coordinated
  through the public television stations.  The RSCPCs are
  critical to providing local representation for the selection
  of instructional television programming and the allocation of
  telecommunications services to schools.
  The membership of each RSCPC shall be made up of school
  division superintendents, or their designees for each school
  division within that region.  Participation by a school
  division is based upon open-broadcast coverage area. 
  Recognizing that some school divisions might fall within two
  or more coverage areas, the school division may choose to
  participate in more than one RSCPC.
  The State Superintendent of Public Instruction is to request
  annually that each school division superintendent identify his
  or her RSCPC affiliation and the name of the individual
  representing the school division.  
  Enclosed is a listing of the five public television stations
  in Virginia.  Please forward to the appropriate Director(s) of
  Educational Services the name, address and telephone number of
  the person who will be serving as your RSCPC representative
  for the 1996-97 school year.  
  If you have any questions concerning the RSCPC process you may
  call either Randy Agee at the Department of Education, (804)
  371-6881, or the Director of Educational Services at the
  appropriate public television station.
  Enclosure:   This memo and its enclosures will be sent to
               the superintendent's office
        Directors of Educational Services - June 1996
  WBRA-CH 15 Roanoke,WMSY-CH 52 Marion,WSBN-CH 47 Norton
  Mrs. Linda W. Pharis, Director of Instruction
  Blue Ridge Public Television
  P.O. Box 13246
  Roanoke, VA 24032
  Telephone (540) 344-0991
  Fax (540) 857-7205
  WCVE-CH 23 Richmond, WCVW-CH 57 Richmond, WHTJ-CH 41
  Mr. Calvin Nunnally, Director of Educational Services
  Central Virginia Public Broadcasting
  23 Sesame Street
  Richmond, VA 23235
  Telephone (804) 560-8130
  Fax (804) 320-8729
  WVPT-CH 51 Harrisonburg
  Mr. Sid Smith, Director of Educational Services
  Shenandoah Valley and Piedmont Region Public Television
  298 Port Republic Road
  Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3052
  Telephone (540) 434-5391
  Fax (540) 434-7481
  WNVT-CH 53 Goldvein/Fredricksburg, WNVC-CH 56 Fairfax County
  Mrs. Mary Sooh, Director of Instruction
  Central Virginia Educational Telecommunications Corp.
  8101A Lee Highway
  Falls Church, VA 22042
  Telephone (703) 698-9682
  Fax (703) 849-0796
  WHRO-CH 15 Norfolk
  Mr. Larry Crum, Sr. VP for Learning Services
  Hampton Roads Public Television
  5200 Hampton Boulevard
  Norfolk, VA 23508-1598
  Telephone (804) 489-9476
  Fax (804) 489-0007