P.O. BOX 2120
May 4, 2001
TO: Division Superintendents
FROM: Jo Lynne DeMary
Superintendent of Public Instruction
SUBJECT: Review of the K-12 Mathematics Standards of Learning: Seeking Input from the School Community and Steering Committee Nominations

The Board of Education, at its April 26, 2001, meeting, approved a work plan for reviewing the Mathematics Standards of Learning. An important part of this plan is the solicitation of comments from classroom teachers, administrators, curriculum supervisors, mathematics educators and anyone else who has worked with the current standards. Please inform personnel in your school division that a form for comments regarding the mathematics Standards of Learning is located on the Virginia Department of Education website at These comments will be received until June 8, 2001.

Additionally, we are soliciting nominations from division superintendents for individuals who are qualified and are available to serve on a steering committee to lead the review of the Standards of Learning in mathematics. It is anticipated that at least 15 people will be selected to serve on the steering committee. Nominees should be mathematics educators or other individuals who have knowledge of the content area and have had experience with the Standards of Learning.

Steering committee members will work with Department of Education mathematics specialists to examine the feedback from school personnel to determine what changes, if any, are needed in the standards. The meetings will be held July 16-18, 2001, and in September and October 2001. In accordance with state guidelines, the Department of Education will cover expenses for mileage, meals, and lodging related to the review process.

The nomination form is attached (Attachment A) and may be duplicated as needed. Your signature or that of a designee is required for the nomination to be considered. Please return the forms to Dr. Carol Rezba, Virginia Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120 or FAX (804) 786-1703 by May 25, 2001. Committee members will be notified of their selection and will receive additional information regarding the review process by June 1, 2001.

If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Rezba, mathematics specialist, Office of Elementary Instructional Services at (804) 225-2676; Deborah Lyman, mathematics specialist, Office of Secondary Instructional Services at (804) 786-6418; or Maureen Hijar, director, Office of Middle Instructional Services at (804) 225-3616.