P.O. BOX 2120




February 25, 2005




Division Superintendents



Jo Lynne DeMary

Superintendent of Public Instruction



Sixth Annual National School Change Awards


The nomination forms for the Sixth Annual National School Change Awards are now available from the awards co-sponsors; the American Association of School Administrators (AASA), the Fordham University Graduate School of Education, and Pearson Education. The purpose of the award is to recognize schools across America that have made significant positive changes. Potential awardees must meet certain criteria related to school change set by the co-sponsors in the following four dimensions: 1) how meaningful is the change; 2) how deep and broad is the change; 3) how is the change focused; and 4) how is the change measured.


To assist schools in Virginia that may be interested in applying for the award, the Virginia Department of Education will provide a one-hour audio technical assistance workshop on March 4, 2005, from 11 a.m. 12 noon. Ms. Hilda Puryear, principal of Chase Elementary School, Chase City, Virginia, and winner of the Second Annual National School Change Award in July 2001 will discuss her successful approach in receiving a change award during the workshop. Department staff will also be available to provide additional assistance for school divisions. The call-in number for the audio workshop is (800) 337-3137 and the pass code is #2870.


Six National School Change Award winners are selected in the spring of each academic year. The winners will receive: 1) an award ceremony conducted at their school; 2) a $5,000 grant; 3) national recognition and coverage by the media; 4) subsidized participation of the schools principal in the Eighth Annual National Principals Leadership Institute; 5) an award presentation by the United States Department of Education in New York City; and 6) participation in a major national research project focusing on school change.


The deadline for submission of applications is April 1, 2005. A copy of the application to submit a nomination for a school in your school division is available at:


Attachment A contains a response form for the audio conference to be returned by fax on or before March 2, 2005, to Diane Jay, educational specialist, at (804) 371-7347. The form contains a place for you to list questions you would like addressed at the workshop. If you need additional information, please contact Ms. Jay at or at (804) 225-2905.