P.O. BOX 2120



July 8, 2005



Division Superintendents



Jo Lynne DeMary

Superintendent of Public Instruction



New Standards of Learning Test Blueprints for 2005-2006



In the 2005-2006 school year new test blueprints will be implemented for all Standards of Learning (SOL) tests in English, for the mathematics tests in grades 4-8 and Algebra II, and for all science tests with the exception of grade 8. The new blueprints for the end-of-course English: Reading test and the Algebra II test will be implemented in the fall of 2005 administration. The remainder of the new blueprints will be effective with the spring 2006 administration. The new blueprints may be accessed and downloaded from



In English the new test blueprints will reflect the 2002 English standards and will include new reading tests at grades 4, 6, and 7 as required by the federal No Child Left Behind (NCLB) legislation. In addition, the new blueprint for grade 3 will address the reading SOL only. The grade 3 writing SOL will now be addressed as part of the grade 5 writing test.


In the area of mathematics, new blueprints will be implemented in grades 4-8 to accommodate the inclusion of new mathematics tests at grades 4, 6, and 7 as required by NCLB and the related changes to the tests at grades 5 and 8 as these tests move from being cumulative to assessing grade level content. In addition, a new blueprint for Algebra II that addresses a reporting category change from the 2001 SOL will be implemented. The delay in the implementation of this changed blueprint was communicated to you via Superintendents Memorandum No. 81, May 2, 2003.


With the exception of the grade 8 science test, new blueprints that address the 2003 science SOL will be implemented in 2005-2006. Because the grade 8 science test covers content from grades 6, 7, and 8 SOL, the new blueprint for this test will not be implemented until 2007-2008 to allow for full implementation of the 2003 SOL. The delay in implementing this new blueprint was communicated to you via Informational Superintendents Memorandum No. 16, January 31, 2003.


The Standards of Learning test blueprints serve a number of purposes. One, they serve as a guide to test developers for writing test items and constructing test forms. Two, they serve as a guide to educators, parents, and students by showing: (a) the SOL covered by the test and which standards, if any, have been excluded; (b) which SOL are assigned to each reporting category; (c) the number of test items in each reporting category and on the total test; (d) general information about how the test questions are constructed; and (e) the materials that students are allowed to use while taking the test.


Each division director of testing will receive notification of the blueprints in a similar memo.


If you have questions regarding the blueprints for the English Standards of Learning tests, please contact Barbara F. Jones, lead specialist, English, Division of Assessment and Reporting at or by phone at (804) 225-2685. For questions regarding the blueprints for science and mathematics SOL tests, please contact Marcia Perry, assessment specialist, Division of Assessment and Reporting at or by phone at (804) 786-1390.