Superintendent's Memo #196-10

State seal, Commonwealth of Virginia

Department of Education

August 20, 2010

TO: Division Superintendents

FROM: Patricia I. Wright, Superintendent of Public Instruction

SUBJECT: School Division Representatives for the Public Television Regional Schools Contracting and Planning Committee

Each of the five public television regions is represented by a Regional Schools Contracting and Planning Committee (RSCPC). Each RSCPC helps select instructional television programming and allocate telecommunications services to schools.

RSCPC membership comprises superintendents, or their designees, for each school division. Participation is based upon the open-broadcast coverage area. School divisions that fall within two or more coverage areas may choose to participate in more than one RSCPC.

The Superintendent of Public Instruction requests annually that each division superintendent identify his or her RSCPC affiliations and the individual representing the division. Contact information is listed below for the five public television stations in Virginia. Please forward to the appropriate director of educational services the name, address, and telephone number of the person who will serve as the RSCPC representative for the 2010-11 school year.

Virginia Public TV Stations
Directors of Educational Services

Blue Ridge PBS (WBRA/Roanoke, WMSY/Marion, WSBN/Norton)
Ms. Rose Martin
Director of Education
1215 McNeil Drive SW
Roanoke, VA 24015
Telephone: 540-344-0991, ext. 1764
Fax: 540-344-2148

WCVE-CH 23 Richmond, WCVW-CH 57 Richmond, WHTJ-CH 41 Charlottesville
Ms. Iris Scott
Vice President, Educational Services
Central Virginia Public Broadcasting
23 Sesame Street
Richmond, VA 23235
Telephone: 804-560-8131
Fax: 804-320-8729

WVPT—Virginia’s Public Television
Mr. John Neumann
Director, Education Services
298 Port Republic Road
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Telephone: 540-434-5391
Fax: 540-434-7084

Ms. Elizabeth Pringle
Director, Education Services
8101A Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
Telephone: 703-770-7100
Fax: 703-770-7112

WHRO-CH 15 Norfolk
Ms. Angie Callahan
Director, Educational Programming & Outreach
Hampton Roads Public Television
5200 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, VA 23508
Telephone: 757-889-9400
Fax: 757-489-0007

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact Mark Saunders, educational technology specialist, by telephone at 804-786-0307 or via e-mail at or the director of educational services at the appropriate public television station.