Superintendent's Memo #003-11

State seal, Commonwealth of Virginia

Department of Education

January 7, 2011

TO: Division Superintendents

FROM: Patricia I. Wright, Superintendent of Public Instruction

SUBJECT: Educational Technology Leadership Awards

The 2010 State Educational Technology Leadership Award was recently presented to Ralph Mulleins of Cumberland County Public Schools. Division superintendents in the Superintendent's Regional Study Groups chose regional award winners from nominations received to recognize outstanding leadership in assisting school divisions achieve local and state goals for the effective use of educational technologies in teaching and learning. From these regional winners, an independent panel of judges named the recipient of the state award.

Other regional winners this year are William Johnsen, Virginia Beach City Public Schools; Kathleen Beane, Colonial Beach Public Schools; Joe Dan Johnson, Nelson County Public Schools; Teresa Simmons, Botetourt County Public Schools; and Karen Blevins, Grayson County Public Schools.

The 2010 Leadership Award for the Virginia Educational Technology Advisory Committee (VETAC) was presented to Pamela Burnette of Carroll County Public Schools. This award recognizes a committee member who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and has demonstrated exemplary commitment to the mission and goals of VETAC.